Author Topic: Leverevolution 45-70 brass  (Read 1103 times)

Offline gr8ful

• GBO Supporter
  • Trade Count: (4)
  • A Real Regular
Leverevolution 45-70 brass
« on: February 19, 2011, 11:35:58 AM »
got out a box of once fired Hornady Leverevolution 45-70 Brass to do some reloading today, and discovered that it measured 2.035".  That is .060" short.    :o  Using my Lee dies, and a OAL of 2.55" I can't crimp my loads. any solutions?

Offline res45

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Avid Poster
Re: Leverevolution 45-70 brass
« Reply #1 on: February 19, 2011, 01:26:57 PM »
Leverevolution brass is trimmed shorter to begin with because of the design of the FTX bullet it was loaded with.  Since I have no experience loading any of that type brass my only suggestion is to either use the FTX bullet to load in that brass or get new brass. 
Linux Mint Mate 15

Offline rangerwillie

• GBO Supporter
  • Trade Count: (29)
  • Avid Poster
« Reply #2 on: February 19, 2011, 02:20:36 PM »
I found the shorter hornadys to be a problem also. I cant crimp them. I decided to use them for my 500 gr cast. Last month I found an old set of 45-70 dies, I played with them for a while with the same results. My son and I did some mic work and he put the old seater die in his lathe and removed some  of the bottom ( about .055 ) and now I can crimp those hornady with any bullet. dan

Offline GH1

• Trade Count: (1)
  • A Real Regular
« Reply #3 on: February 20, 2011, 05:52:45 AM »
I've heard that about the .357 LE as well. Apparently Hornady neede to shortenn all of their cases to accomodate the longer bullets.  I can't help but wonder if the reduced case length will play havoc with reloading formulas?
GH1 :)
I owe my life to an organ donor

Offline gr8ful

• GBO Supporter
  • A Real Regular
« Reply #4 on: February 21, 2011, 04:02:41 PM »