Author Topic: 1860 Uberti  (Read 884 times)

Offline jd45

• Trade Count: (0)
  • A Real Regular
1860 Uberti
« on: December 26, 2003, 10:41:44 AM »
Happy New Year to All,
Since I started shooting my new toy I've noticed the "lock time" is noticibly longer than, say, my Lyman Great Plaines Rifle. From the instant the hammer starts to fall until the main charge goes off is, I would guess, & I admit this is a rough guess, a quarter of a second, whereas on my rifle, it's instantaneous, which means if you don't hold this thing rock-steady, you're probably gonna miss. If you're shootin at paper, no big deal.....but if at a critter, could mean the difference 'tween you gettin your dinner & not! Is this just the nature of the "beast", or what? Has anyone else noticed this, or am I crazy?
PS...I really enjoy shooting it with the shoulder-stock I got fot it.
                                                                   jd45

Offline Full House

1860 Uberti
« Reply #1 on: December 26, 2003, 12:58:09 PM »
What brand of caps are you using?

Fives over nines
Full House

Offline jd45

• A Real Regular
1860 Uberti
« Reply #2 on: December 26, 2003, 05:03:56 PM »
I'm using CCI #11 Magnum, mostly, altho I havw used a couple of their standard #11's, too. Do you suggest another brand? jd45

Offline Will52100

• A Real Regular
1860 Uberti
« Reply #3 on: December 26, 2003, 06:41:30 PM »
Never noticed before, I've shot the walker, 1860 army, a cut down 1861 navy that pieta is passing off as a police model, and a 44 cal 1851.

I've never had one slow to fire, had a few that didn't light off, but that's about it.  I'm useing fff goex black powder and have mainly used cci magnum #11's, with more snaps and misfires from remington.

Your nipple holes may be to small, or too big, or more likely your powder may be a little on the slow side, what are you shooting powder wise?  Then again I'm on the slow side so I may not have noticed any lag time :-)