Author Topic: Cast HP hardness  (Read 503 times)

Offline zacharoo

• Trade Count: (9)
  • A Real Regular
Cast HP hardness
« on: February 09, 2011, 03:26:37 AM »
I am new to casting bullets. I have a friend that casts for me on half for all the wheel weights I send. I am loadinf for a 45 colt Blackhawk. I am using a 4 5/8 inch blackhawk. The bullets run air dried 8 to 10 and water cooled 15 to 18. What would be a better hardness in the 270 gr, SAA  RCBS  penta point and HP bullet. The weights run about 270 gr. in penta point and about 275 gr. in the HP. I would like to find a load about 900 to 1000 FPS. The pouder I will use is WW 571. I know it is an obsoleter powder but I have almost 4 LBS. HELP!! Ineed a load and some advise!!!

Zacharoo

Offline GH1

• Trade Count: (1)
  • A Real Regular
Re: Cast HP hardness
« Reply #1 on: February 10, 2011, 08:27:40 AM »
With the low velocities you're running I don't see why the softer bullet wouldn't work.  Since low velocities are a result of low pressure a hard bullet might no obturate properly and allow gasses to leak past, reulting in leading.
GH1 :)
I owe my life to an organ donor

Offline jhalcott

• Trade Count: (1)
« Reply #2 on: February 10, 2011, 09:20:28 AM »
 I agree with GH1 about the softer alloy being better for the speeds you are running. I use an alloy that is about 10/11 bhn in the .44 mag and run a bit faster than 1100 fps. I have HEARD ww571 and HS-7 are identical powders but I have never used either of them so be carefull. Also be CERTAIN the powder is still good. A few dollars saved on old powder CAN cost a new gun!! Fingers don't grow back either!

Offline res45

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Avid Poster
« Reply #3 on: February 10, 2011, 02:03:47 PM »
I read quiet a few post that state HS-7 is the same as WW-571,Hodgdon had done this quiet often with many powders they sell under there brand name especially since Hodgdon,IMR and Winchester  powders are all under one roof now.