Author Topic: the tinsel fairy- a cautionary note  (Read 1305 times)

Offline rockshooter

• Trade Count: (0)
the tinsel fairy- a cautionary note
« on: February 16, 2011, 03:24:39 PM »
I have been casting for about 30 years and tonight had my first visit from the Tinsel Fairy. When she arrived, she blew lead all over a garage bay, shorted out the Lyman bottom-pour pot by getting lead thru the vent holes on top of the heat controller, blowing a breaker. No damage to me- thanks to cotton clothing, gloves, eye protection and a brimmed hat. A real mess to clean up. What caused it?- I had read of folks using the free paint-stirrer sticks to stir/flux their pot. I have always just dipped a candle into the lead but decided to try something new. The new stirrer had been setting on a shelf in the garage over the winter and when I popped it into the lead, there was a loud pop and it was evident that the stick was not thoroughly dry. So, I'll just keep the "if it ain't broke don't fix it" philosophy. The lesson?- Just because it seems dry, it might not be. Use caution, protective clothing, eyegear!
Loren

Offline mauserand9mm

• Avid Poster
Re: the tinsel fairy- a cautionary note
« Reply #1 on: February 16, 2011, 04:48:28 PM »
Funny way of putting it but describes the outcome very well.

Are the paint stirrers made of timber by chance?

Offline Graybeard

• Administrator
  • Trade Count: (69)
« Reply #2 on: February 16, 2011, 05:41:29 PM »
Plastic paint stir sticks will melt and wood will explode. Never put wood into the hot lead as wood ALWAYS has moisture of some extent in it.

My one such explosion came from the use of a flux powder sold for that purpose. I found out the hard way it is hydroscopic ie it attracts water. I threw that can away and warned folks for years not to use it. I've since forgotten the name of it. Since I've used nothing but wax as flux.

Bill aka the Graybeard
President, Graybeard Outdoor Enterprises
256-435-1125