Author Topic: New Reloader, Old Questions  (Read 845 times)

Offline FWiedner

• Trade Count: (0)
New Reloader, Old Questions
« on: May 27, 2011, 03:34:38 AM »
... and yes, I read the definitive thread.

I've been saving stuff up for 30 years, because I 'might' start reloading.  Figured I'd get started by cleaning up and prepping a pile of brass.

I've got enough brass in several calibers that I figure it'll be worth my time to purchase a good tumbler, media, cleaning and polishing potions, etc.

But I'm confused on a couple of elementary points, and keep in mind that I've not yet even mounted my press onto my workbench yet so I'm not quite sure how that contraption works yet.  I've done some reading, but that's about it.

Here's my first question ever about the reloading process, which has to do with prepping brass for cleaning.

Do I need to punch the dead primers out of the old brass first before I clean the brass?  That's called 'decapping', right?

Seems like that would be the best way, but I don't know, so I'm asking.

I have a Lee single stage press (that's been in a box for 20 years) and last night I was reading the instructions that came with it, and from my reading the "decapping' die also does the full length resizing of the brass, or have I mis-unstood what I read?

If I have to run the brass through a sizing die to decap, that means I have to lube the cases before I clean them, which just seems not quite right.

Anyway, I want to decap a bunch of old brass and get it cleaned up.

Where do I start?

Thanks for your help.

:)
They may talk of a "New Order" in the  world, but what they have in mind is only a revival of the oldest and worst tyranny.   No liberty, no religion, no hope.   It is an unholy alliance of power and pelf to dominate and to enslave the human race.

Offline guzzijohn

Re: New Reloader, Old Questions
« Reply #1 on: May 27, 2011, 03:46:37 AM »