Author Topic: good left handed flint lock  (Read 1350 times)

Offline Will52100

• Trade Count: (0)
  • A Real Regular
good left handed flint lock
« on: August 01, 2011, 04:18:26 AM »
Anybody have a source of a good left handed flint lock?  I've shot a lot of percussion, but never flint.  I'm interested in something like the Kentucky or blue ridge, preferably 50 cal to 58 round ball, and good quality.  I wouldn't mind putting together a kit, I've got the wood and metal working skills but don't know where to start.  Also I cast my own, so ball availibility is not an issue as long as I can get a mould for it.

I have heard that you can take a right handed flint lock and convert it to left handed without too much trouble.  Doesn't sound rite to me, but as I said I'm a newbie with flints.

Thanks
The thing about freedom, it's never free
www.courtneyknives.com

Offline coyotejoe

• Trade Count: (4)
Re: good left handed flint lock
« Reply #1 on: August 01, 2011, 05:10:00 AM »
No way a right hand lock, flint or percussion, can be converted to left hand, much less a whole firearm, unless you like shooting upside down. The only mass produced left hand flintlock I know of is the Lyman Great Plains Rifle. It is more like a Hawken style than a Kentucky but they are highly regarded by their owners. Otherwise, only custom rifles are to be found in left handed form.
The story of David & Goliath only demonstrates the superiority of ballistic projectiles over hand weapons, poor old Goliath never had a chance.

Offline Will52100

• A Real Regular
« Reply #2 on: August 01, 2011, 05:17:09 AM »
Thanks, any good resources on building a flinter?  I've been looking over the Lyman and it looks decent and has good reviews, just not sure it's what I want.
www.courtneyknives.com

Offline Will52100

• A Real Regular
« Reply #3 on: August 01, 2011, 09:30:31 AM »