Author Topic: A few newbie questions, and one for Lee Dies  (Read 1009 times)

Offline Zach

• Classified -- Banned
  • Trade Count: (10)
A few newbie questions, and one for Lee Dies
« on: September 11, 2011, 12:21:02 PM »
Well im just getting into reloading and came into a bump in the road. I have read on many sources that with single shot rifles or bolt action rifles, most do not crimp their cases because crimping to a degree robs some accuracy and also is not needed if the bullet isnt getting banged around in the action.

Since i am shooting a single shot break barrel for my 243, will i need to crimp? or should i?

and what die set should i get? And where in the die process is the case flaired? i have read alot but still a big confused, because some have a seperate die, and other are collective.

http://www.cabelas.com/catalog/product.jsp?productId=731848&categoryId=0&parentCategoryId=0&subCategoryId=0&indexId=0&itemGUID=5a4bfc44ac1008516c3407080face0d7&WTz_l=SBC%3BMMcat104792580%3Bcat104761080%3Bcat104516280&destination=/checkout/basket.jsp

http://www.cabelas.com/catalog/product.jsp?productId=731711&categoryId=0&parentCategoryId=0&subCategoryId=0&indexId=0&itemGUID=548c9b6fac10705978b3e62ae6208f4f&destination=/checkout/basket.jsp

Offline BCB

• Trade Count: (0)
  • A Real Regular
Re: A few newbie questions, and one for Lee Dies
« Reply #1 on: September 11, 2011, 01:43:48 PM »
I really can’t imagine needing the deluxe set, but for 5 extra bucks, it might be worth while…

The less expensive set will do the same thing basically.  But no collet neck sizing die. Never had one of them never needed one…

You can neck size using a regular sizing die...

You don’t flare the bottle neck case unless you are using cast boolits…

Then there is another type of die you do that with…

But for regular jacketed bullets, either set will work…

You can crimp with either set, if you feel it is necessary—probably not with a single shot rifle/handgun…

I would go the less expensive…