Author Topic: BP and Sixgun questions.  (Read 899 times)

Offline Omnivore

• Trade Count: (0)
BP and Sixgun questions.
« on: January 15, 2004, 04:41:43 AM »
Hello,  I new here.  Got some questions.

This is my first year shooting black powder rifles.  Smoke poles have proven to be more fun than I first thought.  The only down side is cleaning.

I'd like to save up and buy a six gun one day.  One that could handle factory loads with smokeless and my own hand loaded shells with real black powder. Reloading with home cast bullets and my own BP seems like it may be fun to try.

One thing I'd like to know is are any of the common six shooters easier to break down for a clean up?  My sidelock rifles have to be totally disassembled for clean up.  BP gunk gets everywhere. Lock,stock and barrel.   I'd figure that BP residue would be bear to clean up on a six shooter.  Especially with all the hiding places in a revolver.

How difficult is it to clean a BP shooting revolver well?  Thanks.
Well, ALMOST everything........

Offline Flint

BP sixgun
« Reply #1 on: January 15, 2004, 06:57:12 AM »
From your desire to load both smokeless and BP, we presume you are talking about a cartridge firing revolver.  The easiest to clean would be the Colt SAA, which can be had from Cimarron, Uberti/Beretta, etc.  The cylinder releases easily, and cleans easily, and very little fouling gets past the cartridge case toward the rear, unlike a cap and ball.  Using Black Powder lube in the bullets and Bore Butter and Ballistol, it should run very well.  Either 45Colt or 44-40 will shoot black powder very well.  Incidently, a BP fouled revolver cleans up cleaner and faster than a smokeless, as water washes awat the carbon.  Smokeless carbon is much harder to remove from the chambers.  A Ruger Vaquero will handle BP well also, and in stainless would be very easy to clean.
Flint, SASS 976, NRA Life

Offline Omnivore

BP and Sixgun questions.
« Reply #2 on: January 15, 2004, 07:41:12 AM »