Author Topic: Lyle or lyle type cannons.  (Read 550 times)

Offline Frank46

• Trade Count: (0)
  • A Real Regular
Lyle or lyle type cannons.
« on: February 18, 2012, 06:05:34 PM »
Back when I worked for a living my company sent me to Kings Point Merchant Marine Academy to attend some classes. In one of the classrooms there was an origional Lyle lifesaving cannon. I realize that the gizmo that held the line was all that was ever fired from these cannons. I often wonder if these cannons could be safely fired with heavier charges and a zinc ball. Anyone have any info on doing just that?. Frank
P.S. they also had a nice 5" deck gun there and close up it was really huge. Sure would not fit into the trunk of my car so as far as I know its still there.

Offline intoodeep

• GBO Supporter
  • Trade Count: (5)
  • A Real Regular
Re: Lyle or lyle type cannons.
« Reply #1 on: February 18, 2012, 06:33:46 PM »
Frank46,

That "gizmo" that held the line was actually 17lbs. So, a Lyle would have no problem firing a zinc ball that weighs 3-4lbs. Most people use Coors light beer cans filled with concrete as projectiles. These are a bit cheaper then the zinc balls.  ;)

If you make it idiot proof, then, someone will make a better idiot.

Offline rmagill

• GBO Supporter
  • Trade Count: (2)
« Reply #2 on: February 19, 2012, 06:11:36 AM »
Coors cans filled with mortar is my regular projectile with mine. For more distance I use a 3lb lead ball. Intoodeep are those Lyle bolts in the pictures yours ?
Bob

Offline intoodeep

• GBO Supporter
  • Trade Count: (5)
  • A Real Regular
« Reply #3 on: February 19, 2012, 07:08:38 AM »
rmagill,

No, those are not mine. I could not find the photos of mine so, I used some archived photos I have. I do have three of them laying around here somewhere. Unfortunately, they are not the Bronze C style....  :(
If you make it idiot proof, then, someone will make a better idiot.

Offline Frank46

• Trade Count: (0)
  • A Real Regular