Author Topic: Dies for 22 Hornet Handi Rifle  (Read 1035 times)

Offline YRUpunting?

• Trade Count: (24)
Dies for 22 Hornet Handi Rifle
« on: March 05, 2012, 05:18:30 AM »
I'm ready to order a 22 Hornet Handi, but before I do I'm confused on what dies I need.  The article linked in the FAQ recommends buying a Lee Collet die, a Redding Body die and any one of the competition seating dies.  Throw in possibly needing a Lee crimping die and the dies cost a little less than half the rifle.  I'm new to reloading and the Hornet will be my first adventure in reloading a rifle case.  Are all these dies necessary for a single shot?

Offline stimpylu32

• Moderators
  • Trade Count: (67)
Re: Dies for 22 Hornet Handi Rifle
« Reply #1 on: March 05, 2012, 05:32:32 AM »
For now I'd just stick with a set of either Lee or RCBS dies , FL sizer and seater , that will get you going with the Lee set being cheaper ( new ) , the Handi Hornet can be a tad picky but nothing that can't be overcome with basic loading practices .  ;)

stimpy
Deceased June 17, 2015

:D If i can,t stop it with 6 it can,t be stopped

Offline AR50shooter

• Trade Count: (4)
  • Retired Correction Sgt.
« Reply #2 on: March 05, 2012, 05:49:32 AM »
YRUpunting,  Just go with a set of full length RCBS dies and you will be fine. Cabelas has them on sale right now for $31.99. I believe the item number is IK-210894. I've used these for years and had great results.  AR50shooter

Offline AR50shooter

• Trade Count: (4)
  • Retired Correction Sgt.
« Reply #3 on: March 05, 2012, 05:51:58 AM »
If you want to crimp the bullets the RCBS can be adjusted for it,just takes a few minutes to get it the way you want.

Offline tobster

• GBO Supporter
  • Trade Count: (18)
  • A Real Regular
« Reply #4 on: March 05, 2012, 07:50:08 AM »