Author Topic: reloading for remington 760 pump  (Read 938 times)

Offline ferryboatcaptain

• Trade Count: (3)
reloading for remington 760 pump
« on: June 23, 2012, 11:38:39 AM »
I would like to know if I will have to full length size my brass every time I reload it for my pump gun or will I get away with a neck size  a time or two. I have three rifles to load for , one mine and two for my dad , .308 and 6mm. I'm new to reloading and so far using new brass.
Any help would be great, thanks all                        FBC     

Basic training 1984
Diego Garcia  1985-87
NAS Pensacola 1987-90
NAS Whiting Field 1990- 91
1996 National Guard
Ft. Sill  2003
Pine Bluff Arsenal   2004- 05
Camp Taji, Iraq       2008
Thinking about retiring   2011
Turned in my retirement paper work  Jan. 2013

Offline mcbammer

• Trade Count: (1)
Re: reloading for remington 760 pump
« Reply #1 on: June 23, 2012, 11:48:47 AM »
I   reload   for   the   exact    same   760   pump   .    My    experience   has   been    to   full   length   size  the    cases   .   Neck   sizeing   the   case   gave   me   problems  cycling   the    cartridges   without   useing   considerable   force.   

Offline josiah712

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Contributor
« Reply #2 on: June 23, 2012, 01:04:33 PM »
I am a big fan of neck sizing, even in levers and pumps, but not autos.  I go the extra mile to make neck sizing work.  The brass last much longer, and there is something I like about cases that are fireformed to my chamber.  There is an accuracy advantage, albeit a minor one at best.