Author Topic: Winchester vs Brooks  (Read 1501 times)

Offline Lancer28ac

• Trade Count: (0)
Winchester vs Brooks
« on: August 06, 2012, 01:04:58 PM »
Hi guys
I'm a newbie here, I've lurking the last few day trying to learn a bit about cannons. I decided I wanted a noise maker and was prepared to buy one of the cartridge loaded Winchesters signal cannons from Bellmore Johnson Company.
After doing some reading here, I've come to the conclusion that one of the cannons from Brooks-USA would be a far better investment as well as being much more historically accurate In appearance. I'm leaning towards the 32 Pdr .50 cal. at $275 or the .50 cal, Napoleon at $250. Would these be a wise choice?
Here is my other problem. I have neither the tools nor the skill to make an historically accurate field carriage which I prefer over a Naval style carriage. Can anyone here suggest where I can purchase a quality field carriage for the Brooks cannons?

Offline Double D

• Trade Count: (3)
  • SAMCC cannon by Brooks-USA
    • South African Miniature Cannon Club
Re: Winchester vs Brooks
« Reply #1 on: August 06, 2012, 05:29:12 PM »
Talk to Zulu http://www.jmelledge.com/  He is a sponsor here and make Carriages for the  Brooks guns

Offline Doc Brown.

• Contributor
« Reply #2 on: August 06, 2012, 06:37:31 PM »
I would go with the Brooks cannon over the Whinchester. I don't know why but the brooks USA websites pictures suck. I know a guy who has a brooks Napoleon on a carriage he made and the barrel looks like a million bucks. On there website the pics just don't do it justice. It looks alot like polished gold in person and I can see why they call it the golden gun.

I have only ever been able to find one website for smaller cannon wheels. The wheels are in my opinion not that good for a cannon but they are all I could ever find for sale that are made and ready to ship. Heres the link.

http://www.amishwares.com/site/1504461/product/189-SCW

Offline GGaskill

• Trade Count: (2)