Author Topic: 45LC CONVERSION SHOOTING  (Read 439 times)

Offline Deer Dave

• Trade Count: (2)
45LC CONVERSION SHOOTING
« on: September 14, 2012, 04:39:36 PM »
Hi Guys,

I have a few ROA Revolvers and I would like to purchase all the equiptment I would need to reload and shoot the 45 LC cartridges.

I would appreciate info regarding what is the best cylinder to purchase and where.

What bullet grain weight to use and style of bullet...flat top? round nose? Where to buy them?

I don't think I will be casting them as of now....but maybe in the near future.

What type/brand of powder and recommended grains to use with the bullet?

A set of Redding dies? I have a Redding Big Boss Press.

Primers?

And anything else I would need to shoot with the conversion cylinder in my ROA'S

Thank You!
David

Offline GH1

• Trade Count: (1)
  • A Real Regular
Re: 45LC CONVERSION SHOOTING
« Reply #1 on: September 14, 2012, 11:05:08 PM »
I have no knowledge of cylinder types but I can help you with the reloading questions.
The forst thing you'll need is some reloading gear and some reference books. Hornady, Lee, and RCBS all make starter kits that will have nearly everything you need, with the exception of dies & components. For reference I suggest the Lyman  #49. It's my go-to manual.
As far as loads & bullets, it's all about application.  Cast bullets are plentiful for this cartridge, a quick online search will provide you with all the sources you'll ever need. I've used bullets from Dardas, Missouri Cast, Moyers, Friendswood, Western,and probably one or two others I can't think of at the moment with good results.