Author Topic: 225 gr acubond bullet in 350 rem mag  (Read 520 times)

Offline woods

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Avid Poster
225 gr acubond bullet in 350 rem mag
« on: October 14, 2012, 04:39:06 PM »
     I purchased a box of 225 acubond noslers for my 350 but was disapointed with the length not fitting properly in my magazine area of my model 7 Rem. I can get proper load fit by grinding the tip flat. I know this is a ballistic tip intended for arodynamics but the tip is going bye bye for shootability. The cartridge bullet seating depth is actually  2.800 (max) is in front of the taper of the bullet.  Measuring the tip length it is aproximately 1/8" by simply grinding these down flush or close to flush it will give me proper bullet placement for crimp on straight area of bullet. I will hold the weight of the bullets the same by weighting each as I bring down the overall length on a hand grinder. I'm a tool and die maker by trade so this is not really a complicated procedure for me at all.  I'm posting this for other 350 shooters to know that this bullet is to long for short action riflles. I have 200 gr acubond bullets comeing soon but in the mean time I'm going to play with the 225's.
     Any other reloaders had to do this before? I've been reloading for 30 years or better and have had to tweek bullets once or twice but this one really iritated me for the price tag on these and then not fitting properly. Was just curious if bullet would still expand properly since the tip is not full size anymore? Just for facts 225 gr accubond for a 35 caliber length is 1.375" For the 200 gr acubond length it's 1.213". Overall lenth difference is .162 that is alot of length for 25 grains of bullet length.

woods

Offline swifty22

• Avid Poster
Re: 225 gr acubond bullet in 350 rem mag
« Reply #1 on: October 14, 2012, 05:16:35 PM »