Author Topic: Newbie here needs help. What is this?  (Read 997 times)

Offline mag246

• Trade Count: (0)
Newbie here needs help. What is this?
« on: November 15, 2012, 03:23:42 PM »
Hi all, newb here. Just joined today. I've had this small cannon for many years now and it just now dawned on my to try and find out some info about it. that desire brought me here.

Does anyone have any information at all about this cannon. What I can tell you: It does fire, seems to fit a 50 cal. (not very tight though), not riffled, the carriage is completely covered in sheets of copper, and the pieces that hold the cannon onto the carriage are solid copper, there are 3 small metal wheels embedded in the bottom of the carriage.

any help would be greatly appreciated

Offline Artilleryman

Re: Newbie here needs help. What is this?
« Reply #1 on: November 15, 2012, 03:43:26 PM »
Welcome to the board.  I haven't seen anything quite like this.  It may be a homemade cannon.
Norm Gibson, 1st SC Vol., ACWSA

Offline KABAR2

• Trade Count: (1)
« Reply #2 on: November 16, 2012, 03:38:22 AM »
Welcome to the forum!,
The barrel and trunnion caps look well made, perhaps done in a foundry, even the elevation screw looks well thought out, I have a feeling this was a singal cannon who's original carriage was damaged and whoever owned it decided to build their own.... the casters look like something form the 1920's are there any markings on the cannon?  have you dismounted it and checked the underside for markings or the trunnion ends?
Mr president I do not cling to either my gun or my Bible.... my gun is holstered on my side so I may carry my Bible and quote from it!

Sed tamen sal petrae LURO VOPO CAN UTRIET sulphuris; et sic facies tonituum et coruscationem si scias artficium

Offline Cannoneer

• GBO Supporter
« Reply #3 on: November 16, 2012, 09:24:50 AM »