Author Topic: Reluctant .223 Rem barrel - Problem finally solved (I think)  (Read 649 times)

Offline OldSchoolRanger

• Trade Count: (60)
Reluctant .223 Rem barrel - Problem finally solved (I think)
« on: January 11, 2013, 06:37:03 PM »
I have four .223Rem barrels, One bull, one with 1 in 9 twist, and two of the .223Rem barrels with a 1 in 12 twist (ejector).

I had a problem getting one of ejector barrels with a 1 in 12 twist to shoot a good group at 100 yards.  I started shooting it about a year and a half ago, and for some strange reason, I couldn't get it to shoot.  It would shoot a good group at 25 yards, and when I moved it to 50yards, it was still a decent group, but a little bigger.  When I went to 100 yards, I couldn't find the holes in the paper.  So I went back to 25 yards and repeated the same procedure, and got the same bad results.  I did this a few times, before I finally packed the gun away, deciding to retry sighting it in later on.

Well this year after hunting season ended, I dug the gun out  and was determined to sight the gun in.  Needless to say, I was having the same problems.  Sight in was excellent at 25 yards, passable at 50 yards, and horrendous at 100 yards.