Author Topic: Paper Patching the 454 Casull  (Read 1073 times)

Offline RPRNY

• Trade Count: (11)
  • A Real Regular
Paper Patching the 454 Casull
« on: June 09, 2013, 01:56:16 PM »
So, I finally got around to this little project and thought I would share since there are a fair few 45 Colt barrels reamed out to 454. I have posted this photo frequently before, but here's mine:

I have no previous experience with paper patching, so this effort was based on a few articles, some internet wisdom, and Mathews The Paper Jacket, which was very useful.

I patched two sets of bullets, both hollow based pure lead slicks, one a 380 gr sized .442" and another a 350 gr sized .451". I patched them each out, respectively, into two sizes:

.455" and . 462" (380 gr), and; .458" and .465". I will not be shooting the .465" patched bullets. They don't seat well, there is frequent patch damage, and I have little reason to believe they will work well. I loaded them at 24.5 grs IMR4227 for the 380 gr bullets and 26 grs IMR4227 for the 350 gr bullets.

I patched with a high fiber tracing paper slightly thicker than 9lb onion skin at .002":

As you can see, these are fairly large bullets:

I lubed with a 65/35 mix of Lee Liquid Alox and Vaseline. And they seated remarkably well with a moderate case mouth flare:

They chambered easily and look pretty bloody sinister: