Author Topic: Ackley Improved  (Read 1474 times)

Offline I am CAL.........

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Avid Poster
Ackley Improved
« on: December 23, 2002, 03:57:26 PM »
I need some information,pro and con on the Ackley Improved cals. What is the advantage in useing these.Are they more accurate or what? I am CAL........

Offline Graybeard

• Administrator
  • Trade Count: (69)
Ackley Improved
« Reply #1 on: December 23, 2002, 06:38:19 PM »
For the most part the reduced taper means reduced case stretch and thus less trimming required. Also holds the chamber a bit better so in theory at least in a TC you can stand higher pressure. Same with any gun mostly limited by back thrust rather than just pressure. Case life will be improved some and you'll usually gain maybe 100 fps.

GB

Bill aka the Graybeard
President, Graybeard Outdoor Enterprises
256-435-1125

I am not a lawyer and do not give legal advice.

Jesus is the way, the truth, and the life anyone who believes in Him will have everlasting life!

Offline I am CAL.........

• Avid Poster
Ackley Improved
« Reply #2 on: December 24, 2002, 03:15:16 PM »
Thanks GB for the reply.Seems to me it isn't worth the effort.I thought it might improve the accuracy of a given cal. :D I am CAL...

Offline taxmiser

• Avid Poster
Ackley Improved cartridges
« Reply #3 on: January 04, 2003, 07:54:18 AM »