Author Topic: Stony Point Steady Stix  (Read 935 times)

Offline lilabner

• Trade Count: (0)
  • A Real Regular
Stony Point Steady Stix
« on: February 11, 2004, 04:32:22 AM »
Has anybody used this product? Is it practical for hunting situations?

Offline mcrae555

Stony Point Steady Stix
« Reply #1 on: February 12, 2004, 03:34:31 PM »
Hello

I have the steady stix and I have been carrying them with me for two years now and I have never used them!  There just doesn't seem to be time for me to deploy them!  I spot and stalk mostly.  I have ended up shooting off hand because all my game recently taken has been under a 100 yards.  I carry them for that just in case feeling I seem to always have.  I think they are a good product however I just havn't really used them yet much like my range finder!

McRae

Offline longwinters

• Moderators
Stony Point Steady Stix
« Reply #2 on: February 13, 2004, 05:42:00 AM »
I bought a couple of them for antelope hunting last fall in Wyoming.  I had the same problem as mcrae555.  Never had time to set them up.  Both of my boys used bipods and in that situation they worked much better.   I shot my buck using a fence post that was convenient.

long
Life is short......eternity is long.

Offline tominboise

• Contributor
Stony Point Steady Stix
« Reply #3 on: February 25, 2004, 04:23:06 AM »
Same situation for me.  I have them, but haven't used them whack anything other then gophers with my .22.  Where I am hunting sort of dictates wether I will carry them along or not.  I've found that if I have time to get the sticks out, I have time to lay down and shoot from prone, which is steadier yet.........

Tom
Regards,

Tom

Offline Wlscott

• A Real Regular
Stony Point Steady Stix
« Reply #4 on: February 25, 2004, 04:41:38 AM »
I carry sticks of my own design and use them constantly. I call coyotes/predators and am able to get into a sitting position before I start calling though.