Author Topic: a good ultra slug scope???????????????  (Read 920 times)

Offline buckslayer

• Trade Count: (2)
  • Contributor
a good ultra slug scope???????????????
« on: April 17, 2004, 12:57:11 PM »
i put a bushnell trophy 3-9x40 [retail price 140$] so i think i paid enough for it. then i got dave hendersons book Shotgunning for deer[a good,good book] and read that you should pay at least 300$ for a shotgun scope. did i waste 140$ on a ''bad scope''???????. the gun i put on is a ultra slug 20 ga. P.S i was on h&r talk till they took it off :evil:  :evil:
I've got to many but never enough!!!! :eek:

Offline Markus

• Moderators
  • Trade Count: (15)
« Reply #1 on: April 17, 2004, 04:48:47 PM »
The $40.00 bushnell 4x32 fixed I have on my 870 slug gun has worked fine for 5 years now. There are a lot of serviceable scopes that are way less than $300. I am no expert on optics but there are a lot of guys hear that know much more than I on the topic. Do a search and maybe also try posting this question on the rifle forum.
PROUD REDNECK CONSERVATIVE

I'd much rather be remembered for being a great shot than having the most expensive gun

Offline Busta

• GBO Supporter
  • Trade Count: (5)
« Reply #2 on: April 17, 2004, 05:13:25 PM »
buckslayer,

That bushnell Trophy scope will be fine as long as you have enough eye relief. I have a Trophy in 1.75-4X32 on my Ultra Slug Hunter, it is very clear, bright and holds zero as good as any scope I have ever had.  I am sure yours will be fine too. While Dave is very knowledgable, he makes his living off the industry. You DO NOT need a $300 scope on a shotgun! Like Markus stated, there are a lot of serviceable scopes out there, like the one you already have. Your Trophy is definitely NOT a "bad scope".
U.S.A.F. Veteran
NRA Life Member

Offline WNY_Whitetailer

• Look at me I'm white and nerdy
  • Working...
    • http://www.dec.state.ny.us/
« Reply #3 on: April 18, 2004, 08:06:26 AM »