Author Topic: .45 cal bullets in cap&ball revolvers?  (Read 1397 times)

Offline Vanstg

• Trade Count: (0)
.45 cal bullets in cap&ball revolvers?
« on: April 15, 2004, 11:39:55 AM »
Has anyone ever tried .45 cal (.451 or .452) lead bullets in a .44 cal cap & ball revolver?

Offline headshooter

Re: .45 cal bullets in cap&ball revolvers?
« Reply #1 on: April 15, 2004, 01:58:08 PM »
Quote from: Vanstg
Has anyone ever tried .45 cal (.451 or .452) lead bullets in a .44 cal cap & ball revolver?

Hi there, I just recently bought my first cap and ball 1858 Texas New Army brass frame revolver from Cabelas( CHRISTmas-b'day present from wife) in 44 cal....so i'm new to blackpowder shooting as well...i bought the starter kit with it..and it included .451 cal ball projectiles....from reading info on all these pages i understand that we can use .454 and.457 as well, but be careful with the larger diameter ones....as it will cause unneccesary stress on the under the barrel loading arm on the rem 1858 and others....ijust bought a loading tool from thunder ridge.

Any questions this is the place to be.i;m still learning too....just keep an eye out on these forums....great info

Good shooting   :D
Live for today! life''''s too darn short----enjoy the outdoors to it''''s MAX----and teach your children the same values  8)   :sniper:

Offline Shorty

« Reply #2 on: April 15, 2004, 02:51:06 PM »
If you're talking bullets made for .45 Colt or .45ACP, I don't see how you could get them started straight into the mouth of the chamber.  Bullets (conical) made for the C & B revolvers have a reduced diameter base.

Offline Flint

conicals
« Reply #3 on: April 15, 2004, 05:35:37 PM »
I have shot Speer 45 cal 200 gr SWC meant for the 45ACP from a 58 Remington, and though the rammer deforms the bullet nose a bit, they shoot, and hit with authority.  I couldn't get that bullet into the loading port of an 1860 Army.
Flint, SASS 976, NRA Life

Offline Vanstg