Author Topic: Whitetail Shoulder Mount  (Read 1147 times)

Offline HuntingGuy

• Trade Count: (3)
  • A Real Regular
Whitetail Shoulder Mount
« on: June 06, 2004, 12:31:59 PM »
Hey all..

I am looking around right now for taxidermists to do a mount for me next hunting season, and came across a local guy that in my eyes does good work - but I am not experienced in taxidermy what so ever, so I would like your opinion on his work.  He is going to charge me 350.00 for the mount.

Here are some whitetail mounts he has done:  
http://atailfortales.com/atailfortales/myarticles.asp?P=5468&S=79&PubID=4408&UT=admin&UID=535

Let me know what you guys think.

Regards, HuntingGuy
HuntingGuy
Hunting in Minnesota Moderator

"You can take the boy out of the country, but you can't take the country out of the boy"

Offline huntsman

• Trade Count: (0)
  • A Real Regular
Whitetail Shoulder Mount
« Reply #1 on: June 06, 2004, 05:46:17 PM »
Most times you get what you pay for, but not always.

The work posted appears to be an advertisement for this taxidermist. If this is his best work, I would go elsewhere. Although his technique appears sound as far as can be seen in these images, his artistic technique leaves a lot to be desired. All of the animals pictured appear to be half-asleep, wandering aimlessly down the trail. A good taxidermist can make your animal come alive and give it some individual personality. Note the ear position on most of the animals, the droopy eyelids, and the non-chalant forms he has chosen for these mounts.

Certain types of antlers look better on certain forms. Low-profile forms are best on deer with wide spreading anlters without tall tines, for instance. Upright, erect forms in general help accentuate long tines and rearward form, such as G1s and G2s.