Author Topic: Cast bullet performance?  (Read 758 times)

Offline erickrschaefer

• Trade Count: (8)
  • Avid Poster
Cast bullet performance?
« on: July 25, 2004, 09:34:07 AM »
I realize cast bullets really penetrate well and out of a 44 are leaving a big hole to start with but how do they leave a bigger wound channel than there original diameter? It is my understanding that they will leave a wound channel bigger than there diameter. Is this true or have I been misinformed. I am new to using cast bullets and have not shot any game with them but sure do love the accuracy and penetration I am getting. My favorite shot on a deer is high through the shoulders and I am hoping a good cast bullet will do the job.

Thanks,
Erick

Offline Leftoverdj

• Trade Count: (0)
Cast bullet performance?
« Reply #1 on: July 25, 2004, 09:46:34 AM »
Shock wave from the bullet creates the larger wound channel. The displaced tissue has to go somewhere and it destroys more tissue as it goes. Throw a rock horizonally into a pond to get a crude visual.
It is the duty of the good citizen to love his country and hate his gubmint.

Offline erickrschaefer

• Trade Count: (8)
  • Avid Poster
Cast bullet performance?
« Reply #2 on: July 25, 2004, 10:00:50 AM »
Makes sense to me. I guess that bullet really does some damage even though it doesn't expand.

Erick

Offline aulrich

• Trade Count: (1)
  • A Real Regular
Cast bullet performance?
« Reply #3 on: July 28, 2004, 05:18:32 AM »
The back issue section of sixgunner.com has a good list of articles on the subject. But in a nutshell for hard cast bullet, it must have a flat tip to produce a larger than caliber wound channel.  If the bullet was round nose it would produce a smaller than caliber wound channel.   The rock example was good becauselike the flat face of the rock  the flat tip of the bullet causes cavitation and its that cavitation that causes the wound channel to be larger that the caliber of the bullet.
The second mouse gets the cheese