Author Topic: Need Help With 1911 Purchase  (Read 746 times)

Offline nacra_racer

• Trade Count: (0)
Need Help With 1911 Purchase
« on: October 06, 2004, 12:24:49 PM »
Hello all,
 I am new to the list but need some very good advice. I have in the past owned a few handguns, EAA Witness and S&W 40 and some les more desirable handguns. I am moving into the country and at this time can now own a "low grade 1911". I am a peace officer so this is a handgun that I will both carry and use for home defense. There are SO many low end 1911's out there that I don't know what to do. I have been searching the web for three days now looking for the "best" .45 1911 that I can find for under 420.00. The best so far is a Springfield GI .45. But after reading the reviews it looks as if the RIA for 310.00 is the best. The you've got Charles Daly, EAA, SA, Armscor, Llama and on and on for all about the same price.
 PLEASE HELP. I'm about to go mad! I want a 1911 full size and would like it to be in stainless but I would also like the extended beavertail safety, light trigger and the best bang for the buck.
 I need to buy with the week.

Toby

Offline Flash

• Trade Count: (82)
« Reply #1 on: October 06, 2004, 01:07:45 PM »
Well, you asked for advice and I'll give it to you. Buy a Colt if you can find one! That is as "Low end" as I would go. I've owned a LLama and Springfield Armory and wouldn't have either one over a Colt. My Commander in 38 Super will feed as fast as I can pull the trigger and with an extended magazine release, it would be the perfect duty weapon in my opinion aka...$h!t storm. I personally think that the 1911 is one helluva handgun and I applaud your choice. The only other 1911 pistols that I would choose over the Colt is a Kimber or a Les Baer.
What doesn't kill us, makes us stronger!

Offline Zcarp2

• Trade Count: (11)
  • Avid Poster
« Reply #2 on: October 06, 2004, 05:29:33 PM »