Author Topic: butchering my first one  (Read 558 times)

Offline Old Cane

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Contributor
    • http://ee.1asphost.com/OldCane/
butchering my first one
« on: January 01, 2005, 02:14:16 PM »
Well, everyone I usually have do my deer for me (I split it with them) was either out of town this week or too busy to do one. It's warm here, close to 70. Got a doe yesterday, small one and thougt if I'm ever going to try it this would be the one.

Got her cut up, bagged and brought home. I feel like I was having to filet her. Is there a trick to getting the silver stuff off? I thought it would pull off easy but no luck. The meat was still sort of warm. Only did a little then put the rest in the fridge. Also, the slick, snotty membrane just about would not pull off. I got tired doing about 10 pounds. Does it really need to come off too? Like I said this is my first time. I've never really watched. Does this slimy film freeze and cook away?

I've done such a bad job I think I'm going to grind the whole thing. Any tips? I've heard refridgerating in a pan (no cover) for a day will let it pull off easy. Any other ideas?

Offline New Hampshire

• A Real Regular
butchering my first one
« Reply #1 on: January 01, 2005, 04:31:33 PM »