Author Topic: Difference between gas check and plain base  (Read 809 times)

Offline Selmer

• Trade Count: (6)
  • A Real Regular
Difference between gas check and plain base
« on: February 08, 2003, 01:54:11 PM »
Ok, I'm new to shooting cast bullets and I have a wide selection of bullets coming from Lloyd Smale in trade for some linotype.  I'll be shooting these bullets out of a .454 Casull 12" barrel on my Encore.  What difference will the gas checks make in these bullets, weights are from 250gr. to 360gr.  I intend to work up a couple good plinking loads with some Universal and have some medium loads with 4227 and full-power loads with H110.  Should I avoid the use of plain-base bullets in any of these loads or just shoot and see what happens?  Please let me know the pros and cons of gas checked and plain base bullets.
Selmer
"Next to the glory of God, music deserves the highest praise"-Martin Luther
Any homo sapien with the proper chromosomes can be labeled a father, but it takes a man to be called "Daddy"-unknown

Offline Billy Marr

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Avid Poster
    • http://www.bbtcastbulletsales.com
« Reply #1 on: February 09, 2003, 03:36:49 AM »
there should be no problem useing plain base bullets with that setup. You will fine some very accurate plinking loads when using the plain base.
lead bullets done right

Offline TexasMac

• Trade Count: (1)
  • Contributor
« Reply #2 on: February 10, 2003, 06:30:07 AM »