Author Topic: bullet lube recommendation?  (Read 1609 times)

Offline weinstein

• Trade Count: (0)
bullet lube recommendation?
« on: February 22, 2003, 06:05:59 PM »
Hello from a new registered member!  Looks like there is a wealth of good information here.

I'm new to casting, and have been collecting the necessary equipment.  I have a heated lubrisizer on the way, and was wondering if anyone had a recommendation for a good bullet lube?

I suppose I can use hard or soft lube since the sizer is heated...

I will be casting mostly for handguns, .32 S&W Long, .38 Spl, and .44 Mag.    Rifle stuff will probably follow, although I already have a mould for 7.62x39.

Thanks for any advice!

Offline Lloyd Smale

• Moderators
  • Trade Count: (32)
« Reply #1 on: February 23, 2003, 12:41:59 AM »
javalina is easy to find cheap to buy and works very well. Its a good lube to start with.
blue lives matter

Offline sjc1

« Reply #2 on: February 23, 2003, 02:41:28 AM »
I use Lyman Super Moly and SPG. I am satisfied with both. Both of these lubes are a soft lube so if you use them you do not need to use your heater. I have never been a big fan of the hard lubes, those that you need a heater to apply. The reason being is that a lube is suppose to lube the barrel as it travels along it and I do not think the hard lubes do as good a job as the soft lube. I base this on recovered bullets. I have yet to examine a recovered bullet that was lubed with a soft lube to have any lube left in the bands after firing. On many occasions I have recovered bullets that have been lubed with hard lube that have lube left in the bands after firing. I know that this is in no way a scientific examination but it is the only way I can make a judgement on the lubes. If it is still in the bands after firing it means to me that it is not doing what it is suppose to do.
Also, like Lloyd stated, Javalina is an excellent lube. It is also a soft lube.

Offline Ka6otm

• Avid Poster