Author Topic: Which BP revolver to buy  (Read 1300 times)

Offline ronbow

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Contributor
Which BP revolver to buy
« on: February 25, 2005, 04:26:46 AM »
I am new to BP revolvers (hunt with a BP rifle). I am wondering what to buy to best suit my needs. I have researched (online and conversations with owners) the following: Ruger 44 Old Army, Cabela's Pietta 1858 New Army. I defiintly want an adjustable sight. I plan to use the revolver as a backup when I hunt with my BP rifle for hogs and deer. I hunt where there are plenty of  black bear so I wanna feel somewhat protected (tired of hiding my .357 during black powder only season). Which fo the above (or what else) would serve me best. I will probably average less than 50 or 60 shots a year with the revolver. Thanks.

Offline filmokentucky

• A Real Regular
Which BP revolver to buy
« Reply #1 on: February 25, 2005, 06:49:46 AM »
For flat-out power, the Walker is the way to go. But since you need the adjustable sights, I'd suggest the Ruger. I think I'd probably go with stainless steel, too.
N.M.L.R.A. Member
T.M.A. Member
N.R.A. Endowment Life Member

Offline Chris

• Trade Count: (1)
  • Contributor
Which BP revolver to buy
« Reply #2 on: February 25, 2005, 12:28:09 PM »
SS Ruger.

...but for bear?  Nope..don't think so.   :?

...Chris   :D
"An intellectual is a man who doesn't know how to park a bike!" Spiro Agnew

Offline Shorty

Which BP revolver to buy
« Reply #3 on: February 25, 2005, 01:59:18 PM »
Ronbow,
Adjustable sights and power limit you to only the Ruger. You might reconsider the sights.  A Walker would be at least as powerful, and could be sighted in, and would be much more COOL!  :wink:  8)

Offline simonkenton

• A Real Regular
Which BP revolver to buy
« Reply #4 on: February 25, 2005, 02:09:20 PM »
During the Civil War troops were knocking horses out of the battle with the .44 Colt. Gatofeo has posted a thread to that effect on this forum.