Author Topic: Bullets and Lube  (Read 970 times)

Offline WW1

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Avid Poster
Bullets and Lube
« on: March 03, 2005, 04:59:53 AM »
Hi I am new to casting....just getting my stuff together and wanted to ask a few questions...I just bought a Star lube/sizer...I will be casting for the 44mag(Ruger SA), the 45LC(Ruger Sa), and the 45-70(Ruger#1/Browning 1885)....my questions are:
#1 what lube to use...since I will be shooting hgher velocities, which lube will be the best for no leading?...the Rifles might be pushed to 2,000 fps..
I aim to hunt with the 45-70 for deer elk and bear....that brings me to another question
#2 a good bullet for hunting ...I assume the bullet would have to be between 300 and 400 grs?...I dont want to have a bunch of differnt bullet weights for everything unless I have ot...
#3 has anyone tried the Mirro-Lube?...will it do what I need?...thanks for any help you might give...also types of molds are any of them better than another?...oh yes I have lots of Lino lead, is it to hard or to soft for a hunting bullet?...
thanks alot
WW1
All a man has is his word and good name...

Offline Leftoverdj

Re: Bullets and Lube
« Reply #1 on: March 03, 2005, 08:39:44 AM »
Quote from: WW1
#1 what lube to use...since I will be shooting hgher velocities, which lube will be the best for no leading?...the Rifles might be pushed to 2,000 fps..

I aim to hunt with the 45-70 for deer elk and bear....that brings me to another question

NRA Formula 50/50 beeswax/alox will do what you need. Sold under a lot of brand names, Javelina being one.  2000 fps is too ambitious for a starting caster. Stay down under 1800 fps until you get a grip on things.

#2 a good bullet for hunting ...I assume the bullet would have to be between 300 and 400 grs?...I dont want to have a bunch of differnt bullet weights for everything unless I have ot...