Author Topic: Foundry Stuff  (Read 817 times)

Offline Powder keg

• GBO Sponsor
  • GBO Supporter
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • A Real Regular
Foundry Stuff
« on: September 21, 2005, 02:52:12 PM »
Hello All,
I decided to start a topic on my foundry stuff. It will follow the construction of my home foundry. I'm building a new furnace now and shortly it will include a muller I am building. A muller helps prepare the sand. I'm new to this and don't know much about foundry work. I encourage those that have more experience than me, please feel free to criticize my doings, and set me straight.

The first set of pictures are of my new furnace. It is constructed out of a 30 gallon barrel. the diameter is 18" and it is about 20" tall with the lid off. The hole is 10" in diameter. The liner is 4" thick. It was pored out of castable refractory, a type of high temp. cement. I used a 10" cardboard tube for the form. The next step will be the lid lifting mechanism.

To be continued......

Wesley P.
"Powder Keg"
Custom Machine work done reasonable. I have a small machine shop and foundry. Please let me build your stuff. I just added Metal etching to my capabilities. I specialize in custom jobs.
"When the gun is lost, All is lost"

Offline kappullen

• Trade Count: (2)
  • Avid Poster
Foundry Stuff
« Reply #1 on: September 21, 2005, 04:34:17 PM »
wow,

That's really impressive!
How many pounds of bronze do you plan to melt in there?
What fuel will you use?

My foundry guy burns some type of oil, kero. I assume.

Kap

Offline Powder keg

• GBO Sponsor
  • GBO Supporter
  • A Real Regular
Foundry Stuff
« Reply #2 on: September 21, 2005, 05:04:08 PM »
Thanks, Kap. right now it's just a 300 pound cement pot :grin: I have a #22 crucible. Should be good for about 60 pounds of Bronze. I've been using propane to fire with but have been considering natural gas.
Wesley P.
"Powder Keg"