Author Topic: 4" 4340 for Beer Can Launcher  (Read 1547 times)

Offline NOSMO

• Trade Count: (0)
4" 4340 for Beer Can Launcher
« on: April 29, 2005, 03:48:48 AM »
Hello to everyone, and thanks for all of the great information.  I'm a beginner in machining, a very much NEWBIE, but have acquired Shoptask and trying to get started.  I'm going to try and tackle a golf ball mortar for one of my first real projects.  I have found several 8" long x 4" pieces of 4340 and one 12" piece.  I have several questions.  Is the 4" 4340 safe for beer can size mortars?  Will I gain any performance leaving the lenght at 8" vs. the other lengths shown in drawing on the forum for the gb mortar?  Does anyone have ideas for a steady or fixed rest that I could fabricate?  Any hints, directions, etc., will be appreciated.  Again thanks!

Offline Double D

• Trade Count: (3)
  • SAMCC cannon by Brooks-USA
    • South African Miniature Cannon Club
« Reply #1 on: April 29, 2005, 06:19:34 AM »
General speaking the bore in a coehorn style mortar should be 2 calibers long.

4340 should work just fine.  You might want to look at it's welding characteristics for attaching trunnions.  4 inch diameter might work for beer cans. It would give you roughly .700 inch thick walls in the bore, bit thin.  You need all you strength in the powder chamber any way.

Offline Cat Whisperer

• Trade Count: (2)
  • Pulaski Coehorn Works
« Reply #2 on: April 29, 2005, 07:23:47 AM »
NOSMO -
Welcome to the board!  

I'll look up what I can tonight on 4340 and report back, but 4" diameter with a powder chamber doesn't give me any pause.  I just want to verify the characteristics of the steel - strength, hardness/brittleness.

Glad to have you on board.
Tim K                 www.GBOCANNONS.COM
Cat Whisperer
Chief of Smoke, Pulaski Coehorn Works & Winery
U.S.Army Retired
N 37.05224  W 80.78133 (front door +/- 15 feet)

Offline CAV Trooper

• Avid Poster
« Reply #3 on: April 29, 2005, 08:19:33 AM »
CW,