Author Topic: floating vs bedding?  (Read 583 times)

Offline beckerhead

• Trade Count: (0)
floating vs bedding?
« on: June 24, 2005, 04:53:36 AM »
having read so many posts re: floating, "o" rings, glass bedding etc. I still seem to come back to a question. I'm no pro so don't throw things, please. I can see how you can fully bed a forend, but, it seems that all you can get with the ''O" ring thing is a kind of partial float, and that it would allow the forend to torque to either side due to the small contact area lying on a rubber ring? then again, full bedding to me (again non-pro), seems to simply increase the area for a hot bbl to push against to start going crazy. I've done no mods to my ultra forend so I can't say how my gun acts, but simply having consistent form on the bags seems to be my biggest ally in the accuracy dept. Sorry for being a bit wordy, just need the fog lifted :shock:

Offline roostertails

floating vs bedding?
« Reply #1 on: June 24, 2005, 06:34:30 AM »
Hello,
I have floated many handi forends and the trick to make it work is to keep the forend from binding between the barrel and receiver, the so-called O-ring trick will cause the forend to pitch down in the front because the contact point with the forend shoe and receiver is always the same position, when adding an o-ring or any thing else between the barrel and forend at the barrel lug point will cause the forend to be pitched down, as you tighten the attaching screw this causes the forend to try and level out causing a binding action between the foren, barrel, and action which will result in the barrel being pulled in one direction as it heats up when being fired.