Author Topic: Cast loads for a 94 Win  (Read 670 times)

Offline gator64

• Trade Count: (0)
Cast loads for a 94 Win
« on: August 12, 2005, 03:43:03 AM »
I give up !!! :x

I have been messing around for several years, though I must admit not with too much vigor, trying to get a cast bullet load that will shoot in my pre-64 model 94.

I have tried loads using 170 gr Laser Cast, w/o gas check, and recommended loads with IMR 3031, 5744 and yesterday using 7 gr of Unique.   I had tried up to 8.8 gr of Unique in the past and got extreme leading after about 5 shots.  Same problem with the other loads.

Yesterday, I had 5 shots at 100 about 2 min and then it began to open up again.

Got any ideas? :?

Thanx
Ed (gator64)

Offline powderburner

Cast loads for a 94 Win
« Reply #1 on: August 12, 2005, 10:43:04 AM »
go find a sack of 32-40 brass and fire form them in the rifle they will have a longer neck and will shoot cast bullets better . I did this with a 32 spl and it worked wonders and the 30-30 is supposed to have a long throat as well ........... Dean

Offline ron haralson

Cast loads for a 94 Win
« Reply #2 on: August 12, 2005, 06:04:51 PM »
I've seen some success with both Lee's 150gr flatnose and Lyman 31141 with a gas check and 9 gr of Unique or 22 gr of 4198. This was with water dropped wheelweights + 2% tin. The load of Unique has shot reasonably well in several rifles with the Lee bullet - 2" or a little better for 5 shots at 100 yds using a receiver rear sight. I suspect the gas checks help substantially. Best of luck.
Ron.

Offline Leftoverdj

Cast loads for a 94 Win
« Reply #3 on: August 12, 2005, 07:06:46 PM »
Give those bullets a coat of Liquid Alox for starters. Your bullets may also be too small. Cast bullets have to be larger than bore diameter.  The lack of gas checks is probably part of the problem.

Here is first class info on plain base bullets:

http://www.gmdr.com/lever/lowveldata.htm