Author Topic: Big problem...  (Read 4560 times)

Offline quickdtoo

• Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (149)
Big problem...
« Reply #60 on: September 09, 2005, 05:49:01 AM »
Doesn't look like any crow will be served after all!!! :wink:
"Always do right, this will gratify some and astonish the rest" -  Mark Twain

Online Graybeard

• Administrator
  • Trade Count: (69)
Big problem...
« Reply #61 on: September 09, 2005, 06:16:21 AM »
Never really expected you to admit the barrel wasn't "OK" Fred even when faced with the facts.  :roll:

Bill aka the Graybeard
President, Graybeard Outdoor Enterprises
256-435-1125

I am not a lawyer and do not give legal advice.

Jesus is the way, the truth, and the life anyone who believes in Him will have everlasting life!

Offline Fred M

• GBO Supporter
  • Trade Count: (1)
    • Fred The Reloader and Wildcatter
Big problem...
« Reply #62 on: September 09, 2005, 08:58:18 AM »
GB

Never really expected you to admit the barrel wasn't "OK" Fred even when faced with the facts.

By your own admission you don't even own a Handi, so you obviously don't know the difference between a barrel and the underlug. They are two separate pieces and made from different material. Even though they are welded together. The underlug can be removed from the barrel and a new one installed. Or the end of the underlug replaced only.  That leaves the barrel ok

We all know of the underlug set back. The material is much too soft for long life. If you shoot a Handi long enough with 243 loads you end up with the same scenario as the the wrong cartridge in the 243 chamber. Lug set back It is a simple enough job to weld up the underlug and make a new seat for the hinge pin and reinstate a tight lock up.

My original statements were based on some stress analysis and pressure calculations. I have made these to satisfy my own conclusions, and they are not far out.