Author Topic: Ejector pin issue and question  (Read 1111 times)

Offline rodgervich

• Trade Count: (0)
Ejector pin issue and question
« on: November 06, 2005, 11:23:52 AM »
Hey swagers I wonder if you could help me out with your experience on this. I am new to swaging so bear with me on the questions. I recently was loaned a swage press and set of dies to fool around with so I made up some bullets for a project I am working on, these are light weight .204 cal bullets (28.5gr).
When ejecting from the point form die the end of the ejector pin gets a little bit stuck in the tip, just enough that the bullet has to be firmly pinched and wiggled off, not a huge issue but it is irritating. You can see in the picture that it formes a little counterbore and sharp edge to the tip hole.
I experimented moving the depth of the tip up/down to see if that would help. When it moves up the pin pushes through and gets stuck inside in the lead (what a PIA that is!), a little further down and I get a straight nipple on the end and the pin still sticks in the tip.
I notice that the cut end of the jackets when trimmed have a generous angle taper on the inside, I suspent that this angle may be causing the pin to stick. When the point is formed the tip still has the sharp edge and allows the pin to just barely squeeze inside to get stuck. Also note that I do not have swage lube and did not lube these with anything after the jacket draw operation so maybe the dry friction is making the pin push too hard?
Is the taper on the jacket the cause or lack of lube? If the jacket how do I make a square end on the trim?Aside from the sticky pin thing the bullets came out pretty good I think, especially for a first timer.
 Thanks for any insight.

[/img]

Offline Smokin7mm

« Reply #1 on: November 07, 2005, 05:30:40 AM »