Author Topic: Alaskan Black Bear Hunt of a Lifetime  (Read 14009 times)

Offline Daveinthebush

• Trade Count: (0)
Alaskan Black Bear Hunt of a Lifetime
« on: June 05, 2005, 03:16:19 PM »
This is the bear hunting story as written by Scott Nicholson, my guest veteran to Alaska.  See the post Iraqi Vet for the whole story.

This story starts many months ago while I was still stationed in Iraq for my second tour there. Not a place that you would expect to start planning an Alaskan black bear hunt as you could have guessed. And it all started like this.…

My wife Allyson, who is a school teacher in Temple Texas sent me an email saying that a gentleman had placed a message on Tradgang.com inviting an Iraqi veteran to come up to Valdez Alaska and bow hunt for black bears with him. I have to admit it; I told her that I really didn’t have the time to check into it with all that was going on in my present location. You see, I am an Army MEDEVAC pilot and we don’t have a whole lot of down time. I also figured that about a million other guys would be contacting him to accept this generous offer. Allyson persisted saying it was the chance of a lifetime so I finally sent him an email a few days later to feel him out and see what the situation really was.

Dave Armstrong, better known as “Dave in the bush” on Graybeardoutdoors.com turned out to be quite a nice guy. No one else had contacted him after multiple messages on Graybeardoutdoors.com or Tradgang.com yet so it looked like a hunt might be possible after all. Problem again was, I just didn’t have the time to make all the coordination necessary from my location in Iraq as an adventure like this requires. In stepped Allyson again. About four days later when I was able to email her again, she told me that she was emailing Dave about the hunt. She would also take care of the necessary coordination and that she had already purchased my plane tickets. Hunt on! You have to love a woman like that!