Author Topic: Breaking in a new mould  (Read 1090 times)

Offline jpuke

• Trade Count: (12)
  • Contributor
Breaking in a new mould
« on: January 29, 2003, 02:31:40 PM »
I got myself a new Lyman mould the other day and today I finally got to try it out.  I spent a few hours and cast around 150 bullets of which about 6 were acceptable - and I'm not that picky.  I made sure the alloy was hot, the mould was hot and degreased but I kept getting wrinkles.  The other problem that I had was that one half of the mould would produce clean bands while the other would produce half-filled, frosted ones.  I made sure to watch which half but both would do it alternatively.  Do I just have to be patient and keep casting or is there something else I can do to speed up the break-in process.  I'm fairly new to casting and all previous experience has been with aluminum moulds.  Any advice would be appreciated.  Thanks.

Offline sjc1

• Trade Count: (0)
Breaking in a new mould
« Reply #1 on: January 29, 2003, 03:20:56 PM »
I like to run my lead temperature at 800 degrees. I keep a thermometer in my lead pot so I know what the temperature is at all times. It sounds like your mix is hot enough if you are getting a frosted bullet.
Make sure your sprue plate swings freely. It should swing aside by it's own weight. You do not want it too tight.