Author Topic: Holster and Grips for Freedom Arms 454?  (Read 3301 times)

Offline Matt in AK

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Contributor
Holster and Grips for Freedom Arms 454?
« on: March 29, 2003, 04:42:30 PM »
:D OK guys, you talked me into buying a Freedom Arms 454.  I picked up a Field Grade model with the 4 3/4" barrel for $1000 in absolute mint condition with adjustable sights (look like Ruger style)-- like new :grin: .  Now I need to find a decent holster and some grips that complement the gun.  I just can't stand the Pachmayrs (functional but ugly as sin).  Can you offer some advice? :?

Thanks.
Isaiah 6:8

Offline J.Solo

• Trade Count: (3)
  • Avid Poster
« Reply #1 on: March 29, 2003, 07:03:19 PM »
Matt:
I also have a .454 field grade Casull with 7 1/2" barrel and I have been using an Uncle Mike's Shoulder Holster for about 10 years. It's a great holster and this year I added a 2x Leoupold scope to the gun (eyes are not what they used to be) and I'm going to buy the scoped version of the same Holster.

I'm also in the market for a set of grips to replace the Pachmyer grips. Freedom Arms sell theirs for about $170. Too steep for me. I would like to find someone that makes grips for this gun at a reasonable price.

I loaded 50 rounds tonight for the range tomorrow. Just remember to use MAG dessignated bullets if you are going to reload. I have now swithed from the 250 grain Hornady XTP - Hollow points to the Hornady 240 grain XTP/MAG Hollow Point bullets. They are supposed to hold together better at high velocities. I have not had a problem with the 250's as I have taken deer for the past 10 years with only one shot on each. It's a Devistating bullet. I switched because I don't want any problems in the future with Forcing Cone wear. I just hope the 240 grain XTP/MAGs perform as well as the 250 XTPs have in the past.
Good luck with your search for the grips...... I will be watching this post to see if any are available other than from Freedom Arms.
J.Solo