Author Topic: most meat lost of shoot  (Read 1274 times)

Offline varmithunter06

• Trade Count: (0)
most meat lost of shoot
« on: February 25, 2006, 04:14:20 PM »
i was wondering whats yalls worst deer killed and torn it up and what caliber where yall using, i killed a doe this year with a .280 rem with winchester ballistic silver tips and it destroyed her front sholder.

Offline Snowshoe

• Contributor
    • http://www.playfarmers.com
most meat lost of shoot
« Reply #1 on: February 26, 2006, 03:50:22 AM »
I used to cut meat for a living, so a lot of friends had me cut up their deer. The most meat was destroyed by rem/chester 130g bullets fired from a .270, or light bullets from a 7mm mag. The average shot around here is well under 100 yards. The fellows that use the 150's in a .270, tend to have far less meat damage than the 130g bullets. I like using the old .30-30 for this type of hunting, it is better suited to the short range shot.
Snowshoe

Offline hardertr

• A Real Regular
most meat lost of shoot
« Reply #2 on: February 26, 2006, 07:03:47 AM »
When I first started hunting deer (about 7 yrs old), my grandfather always told me to shoot them "through the shoulder".  The problem was...I was doing it with a 170 grain 32 Win Special and usually under 50 yards.  I was a pretty good shot with that old 32 and would almost ALWAYS hit them dead-center in the soulder.  The loss was usually a complete oposite shoulder and about half of the entry side.

Then he started having me do neck-shots on does.  I never missied one (until for some strange reason I "upgraded" to my first high-power rifle with a scope).  Meat loss was usually under a pound.

My cleanest shot was the imfamous "shot behind the ear".  didn't lose an ounce of meat..but had to wire the little fork horn's rack back together so I could mount it.
The problem with troubleshooting is....sometimes it shoots back!

Offline Danegeld

most meat lost of shoot
« Reply #3 on: February 26, 2006, 07:57:22 AM »