Author Topic: Peltor Tac 6 w/ Backband  (Read 453 times)

Offline Patriot_1776

• Trade Count: (0)
  • A Real Regular
Peltor Tac 6 w/ Backband
« on: June 14, 2006, 05:21:36 AM »
Anyone tried these muffs before?  I figured I'd give them a try, as I'm a hat wearer when I go out to the range.  I have the headband on my current pair, but I wanted to try out the behind the neck style.  Anyone have anything to say about either the specific model, or the style?  Much appreciated.

:D
-Patriot
-Patriot

Offline rebel49

Peltor Tac 6 w/ Backband
« Reply #1 on: June 14, 2006, 04:56:40 PM »
Patriot:
I have the Tactical 6 with the over the head band, I use them quite a bit as I'm a Range Officer and on duty 4 days a week. I think they work great, they allow me to carry on a conversation in normal voice and still Protect me from the blasts. I have not had any problems with them dampening even .50 bmg, although the muzzle blast from the brakes will make you flinch at times. I change the batteries every month or so, they seem to last pretty long. I've had mine since 7/05 and they still work great. One nice feature is that you can hear conversations from quite a distance.
I did try the behind the head model, and I did not like them. They rubbed on the stocks, neck of your shirt, ect. and you could hear that in the ear cups. I ended up turning them upside down and wearing them like that till my new set got here, then gave them to my son.
All of my Range officers are now equipped with them, some tried the cheap electronics from Sportsmans Guide and other places and like the Peltors better.
Hope this helps,
Rebel49

Offline Patriot_1776

• A Real Regular
Peltor Tac 6 w/ Backband
« Reply #2 on: June 15, 2006, 10:42:06 AM »