Author Topic: New to Handguns and Need Advice  (Read 762 times)

Offline Mark1

• Trade Count: (1)
New to Handguns and Need Advice
« on: June 27, 2006, 05:25:57 PM »
I just found this forum and expect to spend a lot of time reading. I'm new to handguns and want to start handgun hunting whitetail. I need to learn to shoot and was considering buying a Contender with a 22 barrel to become profecient with and then buy a 7-30 Waters barrel to hunt with. I originally wanted to go with the 44 mag but have been told the 44 in a Contender kicks like a mule. I appreciate any suggestions. Thanks.

Offline jimann

• Trade Count: (9)
  • Avid Poster
Good Idea
« Reply #1 on: June 27, 2006, 05:37:31 PM »
Hi
It sounds like a good idea to me. You might check your states hunting regulations. I think some need a straight wall case, or a power range. Shoot the 22, enjoy it and you will find another barrel. And down the line some where you will wonder "Where did all these barrels come from?"
jim

Offline dubber123

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Contributor
« Reply #2 on: June 27, 2006, 06:06:18 PM »
The 7X30 Waters is a great cartridge, but don't necessarily pass on the .44 for recoil.  I have a 10" .44 and recoil isn't bad at all.  I do have Pachmayer  grips on it and have had for 15 years.  Mine isn't punishing to shoot at all even with 315 gr. cast bullets at 1325  fps.  The .44 has a lot of power for most hunting ranges, and reloading is easier than for the Waters in my opinion.

Offline Mark1

« Reply #3 on: June 28, 2006, 10:08:40 AM »
Thanks for the advice. I was originally going to get a .44 revolver but I guess that's not the best way to learn to shoot a handgun. A .22 revolver was my next idea with a .44 following for deer season. That's the more expensive road to go. I figure with the Contender I can have it all and then still expand my collection.

Offline Gregory

« Reply #4 on: June 28, 2006, 12:50:39 PM »
Mark