Author Topic: shotguns explained  (Read 1061 times)

Offline stillborn

• Trade Count: (0)
shotguns explained
« on: September 08, 2006, 09:55:13 AM »
Well Im relatively new to the shotgun scene so I have a few questions.  I just recently discovered NEF and their stuff seems really cool!  I was looking for a smoothbore 12 guage that I could shoot some birds with, or whatever else I wanted.  But I have a question, what is a choke,(full, modified)?  Can I shoot the rifled slugs out of a smoothbore? 

I was looking at the pardner turkey gun because it has the shortest barrel (24 inches)  will that be a pretty rough kick in this gun?  How much would it cost to get it cut down to 18.5 inches?  Would that kick pretty hard?  Ive shot a Win Defender before with birdshot and that kick didn't bother me at all. 

What do yall think?  Would the Turkey gun in 12guage be a good way to go for an all around shotgun?  Are there any other crazy things that I need to know?

if I can't decide on the shotty, Ill probably end up getting their heavy barrel .223

thanks,

still

Offline pshaw

Re: shotguns explained
« Reply #1 on: September 08, 2006, 11:36:46 AM »
First, choke is the restriction at the end of the barrel.  Cylinder has none, improved Cyl has only a little, modified is more and is a good all around choke when you don't have tubes full is even more and extra full (Turkey) is the most.  The more restriction the tighter the pattern.

All far as an all around shotgun.  Get a Pardner 12 with a modified barrel.  You can get a youth 12 Ga  barrel that is only 22 inches long.  If you cut a barrel you lose all choke and end up with a cylinder bore which has a restricted range unless you have it bored out for choke tubes (expensive).  Cutting a barrel is easy.  The hard part is getting the bead back on the new muzzle.

Offline myarmor

• Trade Count: (46)
« Reply #2 on: September 08, 2006, 02:11:51 PM »