Author Topic: Slugging vs. Fire Lapping?  (Read 2303 times)

Offline killswitharrows

• Trade Count: (0)
Slugging vs. Fire Lapping?
« on: September 05, 2006, 07:46:25 PM »
I'm just getting into this big bore stuff and have been doing a lot of reading. It seems that this 'Fire Lapping' is the way to go. I have just purchased a used Marlin 444P. When it gets here I'm thinking of fire lapping it.

What I am confussed about is this slugging? What is it for? Does a rifle need to be both 'slugged' and fire lapped? Or is slugging only used for some other type of problem?

Thanks.

Offline VTDW

• Trade Count: (1)
  • A Real Regular
    • http://www.geocities.com/vtdw336/great_outdoors.html
Re: Slugging vs. Fire Lapping?
« Reply #1 on: September 06, 2006, 02:22:54 AM »
 taken from Beartooth Bullets website and it works.

Note by Veral.  Since all this was plagerized from my material, by Beartooth, Marshall Stanton, with minor changes, notions  and errors, I'll leave it mostly in place but remove the errors and or explain the error and initial that portion.  Understand that the discussion here is about slugging the rifled part of the barrel only.  Slugging the throat is an entirely different process, for entirely different reasons, and every bit as important, whether for revolvers or rifles.  LBT sells throat slugs for that purpose, and push through slugs for every caliber US and metric, for feeling out a barrel. (slugging in Marshalls words)