Poll

Out of the choices below, which would you choose?

Nikon 2.5-8x28 Monarch UCC (Nikoplex)
3 (37.5%)
Burris 2-7x32 (plex)
2 (25%)
Bushnell Elite 3200 2-6x32 (multi x)
1 (12.5%)
other - in same price range
2 (25%)

Total Members Voted: 8

Voting closed: January 20, 2007, 05:25:07 AM

Author Topic: First handgun scope ....  (Read 530 times)

Offline bigjeepman

• Trade Count: (0)
First handgun scope ....
« on: January 10, 2007, 05:25:07 AM »
Okay GBO members ... I need your opinions. I have had a Ruger New Model SBH Hunter in .45 lc for about a 2 years now. I have run about 50 rounds through it at the range. My intention has been to use it on a boar hunt and possibly deer hunting. I have never scoped any of my handguns (in .357, .45 lc) as I always just used them at the range for fun. I now have the urge to scope it and I am new to handscopes. I have a price range from about $225 to $275. I have many rifle scopes including Elite 4200's, Sightrons, Swifts, Muellers, and a few others.

I know my boar shots would be 25 to 75 yds. Since I have never used a handgun hunting before, I am not sure what range for deer hunting with a .45 lc I will be comfortable with until I practice a lot at the range. I am guessing 50 to 100 yds.

I have looked through all of the above scopes and liked all three. Any helpful thoughts, ideas .... ?
5 Rules for Happiness
free your heart from hatred ... free your mind from worries ... live simply ... give more ... expect less

Online Graybeard

• Administrator
  • Trade Count: (69)
Re: First handgun scope ....
« Reply #1 on: January 10, 2007, 10:19:41 AM »
I've always considered 2X to be adequate for use on a .44 Mag revolver and most all of mine when scoped have worn fixed 2X scopes, for the most part the Leupold 2X even tho I've really never liked that 20mm objective. I've recently picked up a Bushnell 2X with the 28mm (I think, might be 32mm) objective and it will go on the next gun I scope to see if I like it better than the Leupold.