Author Topic: 6.5-06 AI  (Read 2532 times)

Offline SHOOTER 72

• Trade Count: (28)
  • Avid Poster
6.5-06 AI
« on: March 20, 2007, 03:34:40 PM »
i recently purchased a custom Mauser chambered in 6.5-06 ackley improved . i have no experience with this cartridge . does anyone have any info or experience with this round ?

Offline Nobade

• Trade Count: (2)
Re: 6.5-06 AI
« Reply #1 on: March 21, 2007, 02:10:23 AM »
Strictly speaking, it can't be a 6.5-06 AI because there isn't or wasn't any 6.5-06 factory ammo to fire in it. That aside, I would see if brand new 25-06 cases were a tight crush fit when you close the bolt on them. If so, you can fireform cases for it with those, using fast shotgun powder and cream 'o' wheat. Just keep adding powder until they form out clean. Once you have cases, see if you can find a way to resize the necks to hold a bullet. A 260 rem die should work. Then you can fire the cases with real loads, and do some measuring. You can send the fired cases to CH4D or Hornady and they will make a set of dies to match your chamber. Lee can also make you a custom collet die to neck size them.

If 25-06 cases don't crush hard when you close the bolt, then all bets are off. You could see if you could partial resize a 30-06 case in a 25-06 full length die until you can just close the bolt and fireform from there, but be careful about the die setting. 
"Give me a lever long enough, and a place to stand, and I'll break the lever."

Offline k3yston3

• Trade Count: (2)
« Reply #2 on: March 21, 2007, 04:27:44 AM »
Why cannot there be a 6.5-06 AI?  Wildcatters have been necking cases in every which way imaginable.  I've got an 8mm-06 AI and there is no such thing as factory 8mm-06 ammuntion.  How I make my cases, is really simple.  First, I get virgin 30-06 brass and run it through my sizing die, then I load a fireforming load and fire it in the rifle, and viola I have 8mm-06 AI cases.