Author Topic: Love that Target Model!  (Read 576 times)

Offline Roudy

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Avid Poster
Love that Target Model!
« on: May 07, 2007, 06:24:24 PM »
Just finished measuring groups from today's outing at the range.  Have a three shot group from the 38-55 that measured 3/4".  That was 100 yards off sandbags with the scope set at 9X.  I normally shoot 5 shot groups, not sure why I only shot three this time.

After adjusting the scope I started shooting at the 200 yard gong and hit it virtually every time.  Don't know what size the gong was, guessing at 8-10 inches in diameter.  This thing REALLY shoots! 8)

These were handloads using Lee's 250 grain bullet mold and IMR 4198 powder at about 1450 fps.  As a side note, I have not reamed the chamber out and only had one case stick in the chamber today, I think the sticking issue is basically gone now.

Roudy

Offline DalesCarpentry

• Trade Count: (32)
  • I would rather be shooting!!
Re: Love that Target Model!
« Reply #1 on: May 07, 2007, 06:35:34 PM »
Good shooting. Keep up the good work. ;D
The quality of a mans life is in direct proportion to his commitment to excellence.

A bad day at the range is better than a good day at work!!

Offline handirifle

• GBO Supporter
  • Trade Count: (3)
    • http://www.handirifle.com
« Reply #2 on: May 07, 2007, 07:33:13 PM »
Nice but I'm not surprised.  What dia are those bullets?
God, Family, and guns, in that order!

Offline eskimo36

• Trade Count: (156)
    • Adventure Rider
« Reply #3 on: May 08, 2007, 06:45:35 AM »
It has been my experience that once you figure out the top secret(double naught spy secret) way to load for the Target Model, it is accurate with almost any bullet and any listed load. I am glad to hear of your success.
"one shot is usually enough"

Offline Roudy

• Avid Poster
« Reply #4 on: May 08, 2007, 07:58:24 AM »
Handirifle,  Bullets are sized to .378" in a Lyman lube/sizer.

Roudy

Offline Coffee_Boy

• Trade Count: (1)