Author Topic: New guy here  (Read 4911 times)

Offline Fluxion

• Trade Count: (0)
New guy here
« on: July 15, 2007, 04:16:32 PM »
I new kind of new here, this is my first post. I have been lurking here for awhile but never posted until now. I just thought it was time.

Here is a picture of my first cannon I built. The barrel is made out of 360 brass with a reamed bore of 0.453 and shoots 45 caliber lead balls quite well with a FFG load of 30 grains. I am not a machinist by trade, I am a cabinet builder but I did turn the barrel and steel axle on my little Atlas 618.  The wheels I made out of white oak, the rims I cut out on my CNC router that I built myself. I also made 16 ga steel bands for the wheels, they were made undersized and heated up and slipped over the wood wheel just like the big boys. I guess I had beginners luck as they turned out great!

Here is a video of me firing the cannon at a bottle of mustard.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NfqI9iYuxrs

After seeing this cannon my Fiance was impressed. I showed her Father, who is also the Minister that will be marrying us on Sept. 1, and he loved it. Now, our wedding is going to be outside and they were discussing whether to try and have unity candles or not. I jokingly suggested "maybe we should have a unity cannon". My Mother in law to be had a shocked look on her face, she couldn't believe what she had just heard. My Father in law to be loved the Idea!

So, I have realized now that my 45 caliber cannon just won't cut it for the wedding. Here is my current project I am working on inspired by posts here.  ;D