Author Topic: I need guideance on getting a climbing tree stand  (Read 1433 times)

Offline teddy12b

• GBO Supporter
  • Trade Count: (0)
I need guideance on getting a climbing tree stand
« on: August 14, 2007, 02:15:58 AM »
Hi Everyone,
           I'm not new to deer hunting, but I am new to buying my own tree stand.  I intend to hunt public land and will need to setup my own stand wherever I go.  I am a larger framed guy and weigh in about 240# so lets make sure it's sturdy.  If I'm going to buy something I'd like to get something that would feel good on my back since I'll be there all day.  I just don't know what to look for so any help would be greatly appreciated.  I'm reading about the "Summit 180 Max Treestand" on cabelas, but I don't know if those are good or not.

Thanks guys.

Offline SHOOTALL

Re: I need guideance on getting a climbing tree stand
« Reply #1 on: August 14, 2007, 03:12:17 AM »
summit makes one for us full figured guys , holds 350 lbs. i think its the Goliath !
if you are 240 add cloths and equipment and comfort to the stand ! tree lounge also has a big one !
If ya can see it ya can hit it !

Offline rickyp

• Trade Count: (19)
« Reply #2 on: August 14, 2007, 12:46:07 PM »
I weigh in about 225 # and hunt from a summit viper extream  and it is great darning the early season but when the weather gets cold and I bundle up it is a little snug but very do able.
I am trying to save up extra money for a summit  Goliath stand for winter hunting

Offline SHOOTALL

« Reply #3 on: August 14, 2007, 12:53:36 PM »
300 here ! the Goliath works great ! so far !

Offline darat100

• GBO Supporter
  • Trade Count: (79)
  • A Real Regular
« Reply #4 on: August 16, 2007, 09:32:26 AM »
I am not a big guy, so I can't help you on that part, but I can give one word of advice.   ALUMINUM!!!!!  Buy something light!  If you don't, you won't use it long!

Offline .308 Win.

• Trade Count: (3)
  • Avid Poster
« Reply #5 on: August 16, 2007, 11:05:37 AM »