Author Topic: Cannons, Medieval Armour and Knives...what a weekend!  (Read 692 times)

Offline Don Krag

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Contributor
    • KragAxe Armoury
Cannons, Medieval Armour and Knives...what a weekend!
« on: August 27, 2007, 07:29:09 PM »
This past weekend I hosted the 5th annual Central-Texas Armour-In...a get-together I've been doing since about 2000. We had to skip a couple years due to moving and such, but it has become a summer tradition now. This year got to see the introduction of the big-guns. We've had a bit of blackpowder in the past, but nothing like this year! I have another four guys completely hooked now with several more who will become hooked, they just don't know it yet. A couple will most likely post here in the near future.

I now have most of the basics of the trail and cheeks assembled on the Sikh Standing mortar project. It got to see it's first *real* projectile firing. We launched a 6" x 6" concrete-filled can around 100 yards into the field. It was quite loud and fun to watch. Everyone seemed surprised to be able to watch the projectile tumble through the air. I said "Aside from the boom, that's the best fun of it...watching them sail out downrange!". Here's a few pics from the weekend....

Here's a side shot and a quarter-on shot of the mortar sitting on the carriage frame. I haven't finished the front end yet or the elevation device so we used a pipe-section and a brick to get to 50*. The blue paint job was interesting. I mixed a few different kinds of paint I had on hand, using an alkyd lead based white as a starting point. I had a beautiful light blue that dried to a slightly darker-than-wanted blue. 24 hrs later it cured into this faint pastel blue. I'm curious what chemical reaction took place! I guess I'll have to break down and spend the whopping $10 on some custom mixed paint! :D