Author Topic: .22 Mag for self defense  (Read 1569 times)

Offline prairiedog555

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Contributor
.22 Mag for self defense
« on: September 23, 2007, 08:51:11 AM »
I have a .22 mag Taurus revolver that I like.  Shoots good.  I have used it for finish shots on deer.  (not mine, I use a 30.06 and they drop dead)

When I clean deer the recovered .22 bullet really expands and does the trick.  And I see from ballistic charts that the energy at the muzzle is comparable to .9mm and better that .38.

I am not a handgun expert, just a shooter.  And I know that .22 mag is not optimum protection, as the .38 is not.  But I have this gun and I am deadly with it and IF I decided to use for self defense how would it perform?   I know some of our GB readers are LE experts that have expert opinions.

Please advise.

Thank you

Offline SHOOTALL

Re: .22 Mag for self defense
« Reply #1 on: September 23, 2007, 09:13:30 AM »
if you like charts check out the % of one shot stops the .22 mag. has if it is listed at all ! that will give facts not opinion .
no doubt a 22 of most any size will kill its how much damage the one who got shot can do before they fall !
the ME of a 40 grain bullet vs. a wider 158 grain bullet is not going to tell you much with regard to stooping power . some what like poking with a finger vs. nailing with a fist full of quarters ! the poke may work in a very few instances in just the right spot , but in the heat of battle do ya really want to poke a finger ?
If ya can see it ya can hit it !

Offline southern utah

• Contributor
    • http://www.jsi-guns-hunting-firearms.com
« Reply #2 on: September 23, 2007, 09:21:33 AM »
often referred to as a mouse gun I would think with proper ammo and good accuracy it would be deadly. Many LEO pack small caliber pistols and resolvers as back up. 22 bullets like to bounce around inside and have done more damage than larger fmj bullets.

Offline SHOOTALL

« Reply #3 on: September 23, 2007, 09:58:56 AM »